What is API 16AR?

API 16AR 1st Ed. is a standard that was published with the intent to provide requirements for repair and remanufacture of drill-through equipment build under API 16A. API 16AR covers the testing, inspection, welding, marking, certification, handling, storing, and shipping of equipment repaired or remanufactured per this standard. API 16AR marks the first time that the repair and remanufacture of API 16A equipment is completely independent from the API 16A specification. Ultimately, the standard was designed with safety in mind and should be taken serious when dealing with equally critical equipment.

API 16AR Scope includes:

  • Ram Blowout Preventers (BOP’s)
  • Ram Blocks, Operators, Packers, and Top Seals
  • Annular BOP’s
  • Annular Packing Units
  • Hydraulic Connectors
  • Drilling Spools
  • Adapters (DSA’s or Spools)
  • Clamps
  • API 6A Flanges
  • OEC’s

API 16AR introduces Repair Specification Levels (RSL) 1, 2, and 3. Each level is respectively more stringent in quality requirements including traceability and or product history file (PHF).

Purchasing requirements: When requesting a quote for repair or remanufacture of equipment to API 16AR requirements, the purchaser should specify the required RSL, as well as provide any possible traceability and or product history file of the equipment in question. If the equipment does not have enough traceability, the equipment may only be able to meet RSL-1, unless extensive testing is performed after re-heat treatment of every component (if metallic). Consult with a sales person for more details and more insight on specification requirements. See below for a quick guide to the RSL levels.

%d bloggers like this: